Reading at Bear Pond Books

I had the opportunity to read at Monpelier’s Bear Pond Books last night, sharing the podium with Neil Shepard, who read from his new book, Hominid Up. We had a great audience, which included my four year old, Isa, who almost stole the show until Neil took the podium. The poems in Neil’s new collection stand up under careful scrutiny on the page, but like all my favorite poetry they lend themselves to oral delivery. Highlights included the title poem, “At the Corner of Broadway and 105th,” and two jazz poems, “Joe Louis and the Duke” and “This is a Test, Can You Hear Me?” I look forward to the next tie I get to hear Neil read. And I highly recommend you check out his book:

http://www.amazon.com/Hominid-Up-Neil-Shepard/dp/1908836954/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1430317338&sr=1-1&keywords=hominid+up

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.